top of page
Search

A Growing Faith


Why is it that we lack faith? Personally, there are days that I feel like I could fight the devil in a bare knuckled brawl, but other days I’m too weak to defend my faith. I have discovered that growing my faith is not due to one single experience but to an accumulation of experiences in my life. If I had been blinded by those experiences, I would have been doomed to repeat a trial or struggled in my acceptance of God’s Word. Dwight Moody once said, "I prayed for faith and thought that some day faith would come down and strike me like lightning, but faith did not come. One day I read in Romans 10, 'Now faith comes by hearing and hearing by the Word of God.' I had closed my Bible and prayed for faith; I now opened my Bible and began to study, and faith has been growing ever since." What a great point!


Many of you know that I was brought up in the church. I read the Bible from my childhood. I attend Bible class, worship, and church events. I realize now that within me the Word of God was like a seed. The seed of the Kingdom was implanted within me as a youth. I knew from childhood that the Bible was more than just a book. I knew that God really did exist and that He loved me. Reason supported my faith, but faith can soar beyond reason. The Word is living and active within me. It cannot be repudiated. I can’t quite explain it, but I know that God’s Spirit is there guiding me and maturing me. I have found that God hears and grants my petitions as I pray because of that faith. Without faith prayer I would feel useless.


I have found that desiring to seek first the Kingdom of God brings many blessings. It brings true Christian joy unspeakable, full of glory, and a peace that surpasses all understanding. God has worked all things for my good in my life. I cannot tell you how often I have prayed thanking God for His providential care. Through His providence I have found my life ordered beyond my own insights. I have seen opportunities provided, doors opened, and bucket loads of grace. However, all of these experiences, which have led me to where I am today, have blessed my life in a way that makes me feel unworthy. I still feel that way here at Summerdale. You continue to bless me.


In the end, I realize that my faith is growing. I learn from each trial, each opportunity, and each experience. I realize that these things are preparing me for a future in Christ’s kingdom. I have no way of knowing what lies ahead, but I know that God is with me. I pray daily for great faith that can help me grow more mature as Christian. I still need a growing faith.


God will guide us and lead us in the direction that he desires. We simply must yield ourselves to Him and commit ourselves to His cause. I John 5:15 says, "And if we know that he hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him." We need to speak to Him because He is listening. He is ready to lead us. Are you ready to grow up with me?

Let’s ask the Father for some advice. Let’s seek His wisdom! Have a GREAT week!


You are loved.

Dr. Ray Reynolds

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page